NIACC's Coulthard selected first-team all-region

NIACC's Niall Coulthard was a first-team all-NJCAA Region XI selection.
NIACC's Niall Coulthard was a first-team all-NJCAA Region XI selection.

MASON CITY - NIACC sophomore Niall Coulthard was selected to the all-NJCAA Region XI first team as a defender.

Coulthard scored four goals and helped the Trojans to an 8-8 overall record and a 5-4 record in the ICCAC.

Also, NIACC sophomore Toby Jarvis was a second-team all-region selection as a defender. Sophomore Mike Merchant (forward) and freshman Harry Holland (midfielder) were honorable mention all-region picks.

Jarvis had two goals and two assists. Merchant scored nine goals with three assists and Holland scored two goals with three assists.

NIACC coach Jonathan Platt has coached 27 all-region players, including eight first-team selections. Platt took over as head coach of the Trojans in the 2012 season.

NJCAA Region XI first-team

Kapaw Htoo (DCTC), defender; Leonardo Braga (Hawkeye CC), midfield; Akean Shackleford (Indian Hills), forward; Reshon Phillip (Indian Hills), forward; Theodoro di Piero (Indian Hills), midfield; Ross Dalton (Indian Hills), keeper; Henrique Devens (Iowa Central), midfield; Guillerme Avila (Iowa Central), defender; Adam Pritchard (Iowa Lakes), defender; Gustavo Fernandes (Iowa Western), defender; Joao Burti (Iowa Western), forward; Jan Hoeffelner (Iowa Western), keeper; Kino Ryousuke (Marshalltown), forward; Eneko Lasheras (Marshalltown), midfield; Niall Coulthard (NIACC), defender; Victor Galterio (Northeast), midfield; Dario Gonzalez (Scott CC), forward.

NJCAA Region XI second-team

Hamza Abdujalil (DCTC), forward; Nikola Petrovic (Hawkeye CC), midfield; Alcides Duarte (Indian Hills), defender; Rodrigo Paredes (Indian Hills), midfield; Craig Brand (Indian Hills), midfield; Kondjo Zebina (Indian Hills), defender; Thiery Zabarel (Iowa Central), defender; Joao Villanova (Iowa Central), defender; Julio Rangel (Iowa Lakes), midfield; Kwesi Allen (Iowa Western), forward; Solomon Constant (Iowa Western), midfield; Joseph Connolly (Iowa Western), defender; Rafael Ramos (Marshalltown), defender; Rafael Vacas (Marshalltown), midfield; Toby Jarvis (NIACC), midfield; Antario Mama (Scott CC), midfield.

NIACC honorable mention - Mike Merchant (NIACC), Harry Holland (NIACC).