NIACC women ranked 21st in final poll

Julia Dunlavey competes at the regional meet in Bettendorf on Oct. 26.
Julia Dunlavey competes at the regional meet in Bettendorf on Oct. 26.

MASON CITY - The NIACC women's cross country team is ranked No. 21 in the fifth and final USTFCCA NJCAA Divison I poll released Wednesday.

The NIACC women will compete at the NJCAA Division I national meet in Garden City, Kan. on Saturday.

Iowa Central is ranked first and Hawkeye CC is ranked 11th.

The Lady Trojans placed third at the NJCAA Region XI meet on Oct. 26 in Bettendorf. Iowa Central was the 2018 regional team champion with a perfect score of 15 points and Hawkeye CC was second with 54 points.

NIACC's Emma Davison placed 11th in a time of 20 minutes, 56 seconds to earn second-team all-region honors. Davison's 11th-place finish was the highest at the regional meet for the Lady Trojans since Jessica Blumberg placed sixth at the 2015 meet in Fort Dodge.

Earning honorable mention all-region honors for the Lady Trojans were Julia Dunlavey (15th in 21:36), Cecelia Hemsworth (20th in 22:06), Ally Trager (21th in 22:14), Alana Wickering (22nd in 22:24) and Caitlyn Regan (25th in 22:46).

USTFCCA NJCAA Division I women's poll

1. Iowa Central; 2. El Paso CC, 3. Cowley CountyCC; 4. Southern Idaho; 5. Central Arizona; 6. Allen CC; 7. Hutchinson CC; 8. Pima CC; 9. Mesa CC; 10. Lansing CC; 11. Hawkeye CC; 12. Trinidad State JC; 13. South Plains; 14. Paradise Valley CC; 15. Pasco-Hernando State College; 16. Pratt CC; 17. Colby CC; 18. Muskegon CC; 19, Highland (Kan.) CC; 20. Monroe; 21. NIACC; 22. Dodge City CC; 23. Macomb CC; 24. NMMI; 25. Sauk Valley CC.

2018 NIACC women's 5K season bests

Emma Davison 19:32 (Trent Smith Invitational, 10-12-18)

Caitlyn Regan 20:14 (Augustana Twilight, 8-31-18)

Julia Dunlavey 20:19 (Augustana Twilight, 8-31-18)

Cecelia Hemsworth 21:17 (Augustana Twilight, 8-31-18)

Ally Trager 21:37 (Trent Smith Invitational, 10-12-18)

Alana Wickering 21:42 (Trent Smith Invitational, 10-12-18)

Laney Wilson 22:34 (Augustana Twilight, 8-31-18)

Miricle Corbo 23:05 (Trent Smith Invitational, 10-12-18)

Ivy Rollene 23:07 (Trent Smith Invitational, 10-12-18)

Aubrea Thompson 24:47 (Augustana Twilight, 8-31-18)