NIACC's Boerjan qualifies for nationals

Ben Boerjan hits his second shot toward the 18th green on Monday during the regional tournament in Ames.
Ben Boerjan hits his second shot toward the 18th green on Monday during the regional tournament in Ames.

AMES - NIACC sophomore Ben Boerjan is headed back to the national tournament.

Boerjan, who was a member of the NIACC men's golf team that qualified for nationals, earned a trip as an individual on Monday by placing second at the NJCAA Region XI tournament at the Veenker Memorial Golf Course on the Iowa State University campus.

"What a great way for Ben to end the season even though his career as a NIACC Trojan isn't over yet," NIACC coach Chris Frenz said. "He is such a tough competitior and was very confident going into this regional tournament.

"The course was set up very tough over the past few days and with those conditions his scoring was impressive."

Boerjan shot a 71-77 -148 and placed one shot behind Kirkwood's Jame Morgan, who shot 71-76 148. The 148 is the lowest two-round total at a men's regional tournament in the Chris Frenz era, which began in 2007.

The previous low total at a regional total by a Frenz coached team was 151 by Jacob Urdahl in 2013 and Boerjan and josh Schaefer at the 2018 regional tournament.

"To be one of the best players in our region is quiet an achievement," Frenz said, "because we have some outstanding players, which I think is one of the best overall regions in the country."

NIACC placed fifth in the team standings with a 319-325 - 644.

Kirkwood was the regional champion with a 304-299 - 603. DMACC was second with a 310-313 - 623 and Southwestern was third with a 318-307 - 625.

The top three teams qualify for the national tournament.

Also for NIACC, Austin Eckenrod shot 82-78 - 160, Jackson Hamlin shot a 80-88 - 166, Matthew Heinemann shot a 87-84 - 171 and Zach Martin shot a 86-86 - 172.

"Teamwise, we are very disappointed in (Monday's) efforts," Frenz said. "But thankfully they are all freshmen, except Ben, and they will learn from this and come back next year ready to compete at a high level."


Ben Boerjan (2019) 71-77 - 148

Jacob Urdahl (2013) 78-73 - 151

Ben Boerjan (2018) 74-77 - 151

Josh Schaefer (2018) 74-77 - 151

Dalton Olson (2013) 74-82 - 152

Levi Fink (2014) 76-77 - 153

Sam Steinwand (2015) 75-78 - 153

Nate Haaland (2009) 76-79 - 155

Steven Wyborny (2009) 77-78 - 155

Max Rohlfsen (2010) 74-81 - 155

Devin Koob (2018) 78-77 - 155